Automatically resolve duplicate people
You can enable the Multi-identifier profile merge setting to automatically merge duplicate profiles under Settings > Workspace Settings > Merge Settings. If you created your workspace using the email or ID option after September 24, 2021, this setting is on by default.
When you turn on the Multi-identifier profile merge setting, we’ll automatically recognize and merge duplicate profiles An instance of a person. Profiles start journeys through automations, join segments, and more. You reference a person's profile attributes in messaging using the liquid key customer, like {{customer.email}}.
- The
identifyrequest failed because theidandemailin the request matched different people. - The
idandemailin the request matched exactly one person each. - The profile matched by
iddoes not have anemail - The profile matched by
emaildoes not have anid.
In this case, when we merge people, we treat the older profile as the Primary person and the younger profile as the secondary person. The secondary person is merged into the primary person, and then it is deleted.