Handling deleted HubSpot data downstream of Customer.io
We represent data you delete in HubSpot with events. You can use these events to determine how you handle deleted data in integrations downstream of Customer.io. But in Customer.io, you don't need to do anything to handle deleted data; we do it for you.
How it works
We use Semantic Events, events with special meanings, to handle delete operations when you sync data from HubSpot to Customer.io.
For example, if you delete a contact in HubSpot, we represent the deletion in Customer.io as an event called Delete Person.
Semantic events for delete operations
The data-deleting operations you can perform from HubSpot correspond to simple event names.
Delete Person: Removes a profileDelete Object: Removes an object, like an account or opportunityDelete Relationship: Removes a relationship between a profile and an object, like when a contact leaves a company, or an account transfers to a new account manager.
You’ll notice that there’s no Delete Event operation. You can’t delete an event. An event is something that happened at a point in time. You can’t go back in time and stop that thing from happening!
Remove an attribute from a profile or object
We don’t use events to remove or unset attributes. Instead, we set an attribute to an empty string or null to remove it in Customer.io. You may notice this in Customer.io if you check data for an individual sync.