Unlink an email from an automation

You can unlink an email from an automation, API-triggered broadcast, one-time send, or transactional message made in Design Studio so you can use it elsewhere.

You can also duplicate the message to use it in another automation.

To unlink a Design Studio message from an automation or API-triggered broadcast, delete the email block from your workflow.

To unlink a Design Studio message from a one-time send or transactional message, you can either switch to another message type (then back to “Email” if you want a different email linked) or delete the automation and start over.

After you unlink the message, your message will update to Unused on your Design Studio dashboard.

Updated August 31, 2026